My 2017 TBR List and Most Anticipated Releases.

I’m really bad at sticking to TBRs, but seeing as I have 365 days in which to read the following, I’m hoping I’ll get to all of them in that time.

Here are some of the books I’m interested in reading in 2017.


The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer.

I have read Cinder, which I really enjoyed, but it’s taken me ages to get around to the rest of the series. I’m usually quite underwhelmed by series and much prefer standalones, but this is one I really want to finish.


His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman.

Again, I have read the first in this series – The Northern Lights or The Golden Compass depending on where you hail from – but haven’t got around to the rest yet. I do have the full trilogy so will be taking this with me when I go to my mum’s for Christmas, so I may even read The Subtle Knife in 2016.


images (8).jpeg

The Boy on the Bridge by M. R. Carey.

The sequel to The Girl With All the Gifts is being published in May next year – 7 days before my birthday LOVE YOU MUM – and I bloody loved The Girl With All the Gifts. Actually, this isn’t a sequel, but a return to that same world, so more of a spin-off I guess. Either way, I can’t wait.


origin.place-holder.jpg

Origin by Dan Brown.

I was so excited when I saw that this was coming out in September next year. I did a proper little squeal. I adore the Robert Langdon books. They’re so fast-paced and exciting, and they’re real page-turners. (Click for funny joke about page-turners.)


images (9).jpeg

The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil by Stephen Collins.

I have asked for this graphic novel for Christmas so I’ve got my fingers crossed that I’ll be able to read it on Christmas Day. I have read about half of it already, while resting my feet in Foyles, and really enjoyed what I read. It also RHYMES.


Everyday Sexism and Girl Up by Laura Bates.

Again, I’m hoping to get these for Christmas as I’ve heard a rumour that I may have some Waterstones vouchers on the way. I’ve read a short sample of both of these books and am very intrigued.


Some other books I’d like to read next year:

  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (illustrated edition) by Jim Kay / JKR
  • My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece and Silence is Goldfish by Annabel Pitcher
  • Why God Is a Woman by Nin Andrew (which I can’t find in any bookshops anywhere)
  • Britt-Marie Was Here by Fredrik Backman
  • The Medieval Vagina by Karen Haggis / Lori Caskey-Sigety
  • Flawed by Cecelia Ahern
  • My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga
  • The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige
  • Faery Tales by Carol Ann Duffy
  • Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas
  • The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger
  • Catch-22 by
  • Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

And finally, here’s a link to the books I’ve always wanted to read and never gotten around to, and which are also in my 2017 TBR list.

 

13 thoughts on “My 2017 TBR List and Most Anticipated Releases.

  1. I’ve only read Cinder, too! Good to know I’m not the last person to have read the series. 😉 Though, frankly, I didn’t enjoy Cinder enough to want to continue with the sequels.

    Like

  2. I really like your list here. I’d be interested in seeing what you think of Scarlet and Cress. I read both but didn’t like them much though I enjoyed Cinder. And I hope to read The Golden Compass next year, maybe I’ll read it around January or February when winter is still about. It strikes me as a winter read. And I got the Gigantic Beard book this year too! Hopefully I get to next year (that’s my new mantra because I bought a shitload of books this year that I haven’t yet read).

    Like

Leave a comment