Top 5 Weds: Books to Finally Read in 2017.

 Top 5 Wednesday is a meme created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Thoughts on Tomes. Here’s the link to the Goodreads group.

I won’t be partaking every Wednesday – if I try to blog on a particular day each week, I always end up losing interest – but I thought it would be a fun meme to dip in and out of.


I don’t have a proper TBR for 2017 – in fact I’d rather re-read lots of books next year – but I do have some books that I’ve always meant to read but either not got around to, or tried but not been able to get into them at the time. Here are some of those books!

images.jpeg

1. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.

I tried reading my mum’s stunning edition of this years ago and just couldn’t get into it. I bought my own stunning edition earlier this year (or it may even have been the tail-end of 2015) and have barely even tried to read it. I have a free e-book version of it on my Kindle. WHAT WILL IT TAKE FOR ME TO READ THIS BOOK? My friend read it recently and said she struggled to get into it, but really enjoyed it by the end, so maybe I’ll try and force myself to read it over Christmas and New Year.


2. Anything by Margaret Atwood.

I have read The Penelopiad by Atwood, but I want to read something she’s better known for. The Handmaid’s Tale is an obvious choice, but a few people have also strongly recommended Oryx and Crake, so I think I’m just going to have a look around some charity shops and see what happens. I’m also tempted by Hag-Seed as I love me a retelling.


0008104_shirley_valentine_300

3. Shirley Valentine by Willy Russell.

There was a time I would snatch up anything written by Willy Russell, but for some reason I never got around to one of his best-known works. I really want to either read or watch Shirley Valentine. I love everything else he’s written so am sure I’ll love this.


Lovely_Bones_cover.jpg

4. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold.

This is one of those books that everyone has read, and that I remember everyone around me reading at the time, but which I never bothered to read. I am ALWAYS very late to the party when it comes to books – or to anything, really. However, I read a sample of this recently and enjoyed it, so I’d like to pick it up at some point next year.


nineteen-eighty-four-popular-penguins.jpg

5. Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell.

This is another one that I’ve tried and failed to read before. I love dystopians though, and this is THE dystopian book. I have to read it, I have to.

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Weds: Books to Finally Read in 2017.

  1. I actually started an audiobook of Wuthering Heights today! And 1984 is one of my favorite classics. The Lovely Bones wasn’t my cup of tea, but I hope you will enjoy it better. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

