Top 5 Wednesday: Books for Your Hogwarts House

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme (on Wednesdays, duh) hosted by Thoughts on Tomes on Youtube. Here’s her video for this week:

I don’t really identify with a particular House but this week’s topic sounded so much fun. I’ve taken 3 Pottermore quizzes and got Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff and Slytherin in that order. (I’m definitely NOT a Gryffindor. I never needed Pottermore to tell me that.)

I’m definitely more of a Ravenclaw or Hufflepuff. I’d love to be a Slytherin but I’m not cool enough. Ravenclaw is the House I got Sorted into when I first got my Pottermore account, so that’s what I’m going to go with today. (Though I consider myself a drifter between Houses. I’d probably be a Squib, let’s face it.)

So, books for Ravenclaws! Ravenclaws are:

Or yet in wise old Ravenclaw,
if you’ve a ready mind,
Where those of wit and learning,
Will always find their kind;

They’re clever, basically. I feel like Ravenclaws are the least 3-dimensional House – all the other Houses have at least two attributes:

Gryffindor: Brave AND chivalrous
Slytherin: Cunning AND ambitious
Hufflepuff: Hard-working AND loyal
Ravenclaw: Clever. Just clever.

Which is fine, but you know… I’d like a second attribute.

I think most people have gone for books with characters who seem like they might be Ravenclaws (or whatever other Hogwarts House) but I decided to think of it more like this: what books would Ravenclaws recommend to each other? If they had a book club (Ravenclaw is definitely the House that would have a book club) which books would they choose to read?


1. I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai.

malala.jpeg

I feel like most people don’t read non-fiction until they’re adults, but Ravenclaw teens would definitely want to educate themselves. I haven’t read it but I think there would be someone in Ravenclaw in love with SPQR: A History of Ancient Rome by Mary Beard.

Let’s talk about books I have read, though: I think the non-fiction book doing the rounds in the Ravenclaw common room would be the brilliant I Am Malala. Ravenclaws would want to educate themselves and read books with important subject matter, like this one.

animal.jpeg2. Animal Farm by George Orwell.

Ravenclaws definitely read the classics for fun. I think they would choose something like Animal Farm: a classic with an agenda. To Ravenclaws, it would be important for books to make you think, rather than just having a good plot or fun characters. (Although that would be important to them too, of course. I think they would have a long reading list of books that deal with philosophy and politics but they would also have a pile of fun, fluffy reads for days when they need to zone out.)

3. Alice in Wonderland and Alice Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll.

This is the one that Luna would choose. She’s probably the most prominent Ravenclaw inalice.jpg the books so I had to mention what I think would be her favourite book. (I think of Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass as one book, really, because the edition I had as a kid was one of those two-in-one hardcovers.)

Alice has the same calm, curious manner as Luna, almost completely unfazed by the strange goings-on around her (she has a moment of surprise but always accepts her situation quickly). Her story seems whacky and illogical, but at the same time it’s extremely intelligent, and it’s the kind of zany thing Ravenclaws, and especially Luna, would love. There’s often madness in genius, after all.

4. Hamlet by William Shakespeare.

hamlet.jpg

There’s definitely at least one die-hard Shakespeare fan in Ravenclaw, and I think Hamlet would be their favourite play: Shakespeare always played with language but Hamlet is probably one of his most eloquent characters. He has several soliloquies that twist and turn, playing with words to mean several things at once, and is known for being an especially intelligent Shakespearian character.

5. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.

ready.jpg

Last of all is the guilty pleasure book – the one where every Ravenclaw secretly breathes a sigh of relief when it’s announced at the book club meeting. They’ve spent months reading wordy classics and iambic pentameter, and now they can properly relax with a book where they won’t have to do too much thinking.

Presuming Ravenclaws aren’t all Pureblood witches and wizards who know nothing of 80s Muggle culture, Ready Player One would be a fantastic choice for a page-turning, unputdownable novel that they can whiz through and love forever. Wade (AKA Parzival) puts everything he has into his research: though his main aim is getting rich rather than the pursuit of knowledge, his sheer effort would be applauded by any Ravenclaw. He is one of the first people to discover the hiding place of the first key in the OASIS (Wiki the book here if that sounded like gobbledegook to you) which means he is extremely clever and able to work out cryptic clues. He is also a massive geek, and Ready Player One is the perfect book for any geek, and there are almost certainly a few geeks in Ravenclaw.

(He does also sound a bit like a Slytherin, doesn’t he?)

Click here if you’d like to read my review of Ready Player One, one of the best books I read in 2016.


Other books Ravenclaws would love:

  • Grief is the Thing With Feathers by
  • The Book Collector by Alice Thompson
  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
  • Anything by Terry Pratchett and/or Neil Gaiman.

Thanks for stopping by!

obama.gif

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books for Your Hogwarts House

  1. ooh excellent choices for Ravenclaw!! Especially Hamlet, Animal Farm and Alice. I get what you mean about being a drifter- I think I’m a Ravenclaw most of the time, but I think there are times when I feel like I belong in a different house 😉

    Like

  2. I think I’m a Ravenclaw/Hufflepuff combo too. I usually get either Ravenclaw or Gryffindor whenever I take the quizzes though. Hmm… maybe I’m like Neville, who everyone would think belongs in Hufflepuff.
    Ah well. I totally agree about Animal Farm and Hamlet. Ravenclaws would love those.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

