My Feminist TBR List.

This post is inspired by this video by justkissmyfrog on YouTube, where Leena speaks about her feminist book recommendations and also those which are on her TBR – a word which I’m sure you know but which here means ‘to be read’ – list. (I’ve been reading a lot of Lemony Snicket recently, can you tell?)

I’m going to skip the recommendations part, as I’ve spoken about most of them recently on my blog anyway, and jump straight to my feminist TBR list.

Ones I Own.

These are the ones I really need to get to next, as they’re the ones that I’ve already got fem.jpgaccess to and won’t cost me any more money. But you’re all bookish fiends – you all know that’s probably not going to happen.

I Call Myself a Feminist. This book has several authors as it is a collection of essays and other writings from well-known female writers who, as the title suggests, call themselves feminists. I kept thinking about buying this book and then was lucky enough to get it from my best friend as a late Christmas present. I was very excited to receive it but just haven’t gotten around to reading it yet.

Vagenda by Holly Baxter and Rhiannon Lucy Cosslett. This was a spontaneous buy in Waterstones, which I did start reading but put down as the beginning is quite heavy withimages-2 history. I mean, I love a bit of history, but I’m not all that interested in the history of women’s magazines. I don’t think the whole book will be about that, though, so I’m going to give it another go when I feel like it.

Girls Will Be Girls by Emer O’Toole. I’ve heard lots of good things about this book, especially on Booktube. It got passed around some of my favourite YouTubers who all hang out together (naturally I want to be in their gang) so it was inevitable that I’d eventually buy it. So far, though, it’s just collected dust on my shelf. I am interested in reading it – just not at the moment.

Ones I Don’t Own.

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. I’ve wanted to read some Atwood books for ages – everyone I know who’s read her thinks she’s fabulous. I also saw an interview with Atwood the other day where she was talking about the new TV adaptation of this modern classic, and she said something that really intrigued me:

I would not include anything that human beings had not already done in some other place or time(.)

I love the dystopian genre and am especially interested in feminist dystopians, because they often feel like they really could happen. So if The Handmaid’s Tale is drawn from things that humans have actually done, then it’ll be even more sinister and enthralling.

The Secret Lives of the Amir Sisters by Nadiya Hussain.

I don’t know if this is generally considered a feminist novel, but it looks to me like it might be. It’s written by one of the winners of The Great British Bake-Off (and I properly loved her on Bake-Off. Her facial expressions were brilliant).

nadiya

nadiya2

Generally I don’t much rate books written by celebrities, but I downloaded a sample of this one and really like what I read. I’ve not bought it yet because the price is still quite high for an ebook (I love ebooks, but I don’t see the point of spending nearly £10 on something I can’t display on my shelves) but I’m excited to give it a go.

Why do I think it’s feminist? Well, it’s giving a voice to non-white women and making their stories more mainstream. I’ve got really high hopes for this novel – what I’ve read so why god is a womanfar was really good and it looks to be quite an emotional, funny read.

Why God Is a Woman by Nin Andrews.

This is a poetry collection that has been championed a lot by Jen Campbell on her YouTube channel. It’s set in a matriarchal world where boys grow wings when they hit puberty, and the women begin to overly sexualise them as soon as they hit that age – much like men do with teenage girls in real life. It’s an interesting premise that turns our patriarchal society on its head and sounds somewhat ridiculous – even though the equivalent is happening around us all the time.

The Medieval Vagina by Karen Harris and Lori Caskey-Sigety, and, no, I don’t just want to read it because it sounds funny.

I’m aiming to read more non-fiction anyway, and have started with lots of feminist non-fiction. I’d like to combine this with my love of history in this book about how vaginas, or the processes of the vagina, were treated in the olden days. This book talks about how medieval women dealt with periods, how virginity and widowhood were viewed, and many more things that I haven’t really thought about before.

However, I did start reading it a while back, and it does start out a little dry. (No pun intended.)

(That was gross, I don’t know why I said that.)

I’m hoping it – oh, god. I’m hoping it warms up later on.

I swear these vagina puns are entirely involuntary.

 

5 thoughts on “My Feminist TBR List.

  1. Oh I think The Vagenda is based on a feminist blog! I used to read that a while back but didn’t know they wrote a book!
    I also REALLY want to read Girls will be Girls, it sounds amazing!
    Ahhh yes I’ve seen Jen talk about Why God is a Woman as well and definitely want to read it at some point!

    Like

Leave a Reply

