The Goodreads Book Tag.

I have actually done this tag before, but I was tagged recently (no, not recently – I just checked and it was in  June!!!) by Lindsey at Paradis Books (thank you!) and figured I may as well redo it because it’s the sort of tag where your answers will change a lot.


What was the last book you marked as ‘read’?

The Bad Beginning, the first in the A Series of Unfortunate Events series by Lemony Snicket. Which means we are now 11 days into March and I haven’t finished a book yet this month!

What are you currently reading?

The reason I haven’t yet finished a whole book in March is because I keep hopping around
a lot and can’t really get into anything. However, I have white teethjust started rereading White Teeth by Zadie Smith and think I will stick with this one. I read it years ago and adored it and now I’m really remembering why.

Officially on Goodreads, I’m currently reading 0 books. I did have It by Stephen King on there for a while but I’ve pretty much given up with that one, so I took it off. It was just kind of… ‘meh’. If you’re going to read any Stephen King, I’d recommend Misery, Thinner, The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, which are all my favourites of his, or Cujo, which is the one I started with and loved.

What was the last book you marked as ‘TBR’?

I don’t really use Goodreads to keep track of my TBR, but every now and then I will mark a book on there. The last one I marked as ‘To Be Read’ was The Road by Cormac McCarthy, which my friend Alys recommended to me when we went on our London Book Crawl last year. (Hoping to do 51GJCBgMhhL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_another one of these this year! I still need to visit Persephone Books and Word on the Water, and countless others. There must be a massive Oxfam bookshop somewhere in London, right?!)

What book do you plan to read next?

Hmm. Don’t know. I’m tempted to carry on with A Series of Unfortunate Events, but I’d rather read a book I already own. So I’m thinking maybe A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, or I might just reread another old favourite after White Teeth.

Do you use the star rating system?

Not any more, no. I’ve stopped myself from rating books because it was interfering with my enjoyment of reading – I started questioning the value or worth of books that I had loved, just because they didn’t conform to my ‘formula’ for a 5-star book.

However, sometimes I think rating books is quite helpful, so I may slowly start doing it again. But only when I feel it needs it.

Are you doing a Reading Challenge?

Not this year but I did last year. This was probably the main reason that I stopped enjoying reading so much last year, and started to see it as a chore, and avoid longer books, avoid re-reads and so on. I set myself a challenge of 100 books, which I did reach and I was pleased about that, but I don’t think I was necessarily reading books that I really wanted to. But it did also mean I found some books that I loved, so I don’t hate the idea of a reading challenge.

Do you have a wishlist?

Er… in my head, yeah? Doesn’t everyone? Or does this mean there’s an option for a wishlist on Goodreads? Isn’t that just your TBR?

What book do you plan to buy next?

Hmmmmmm… what a question!

books.gif
ALL THE BOOKS!

I have about £15 on my Waterstones loyalty card, but amazingly I haven’t been in to have a look for ages. I’ve not got anything in mind to buy so will just go in one day and see what I can find – preferably when  they have a ‘buy one get one half price’ offer on!

Do you have any favourite quotes, would you like to share a few?

My favourite quote ever is this one from To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee:

Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing.

How brilliant is that? I mean, I always say I relate to it, but actually I don’t because I always knew I loved to read. But I relate to it regardless.

Who are your favourite authors?

I love Philippa Gregory, J. K. Rowling (obviously), Liane Moriarty, David Nicholls, Fredrikone_day_-_david_nicholls Backman and Willy Russell (playwright rather than author, although he has written one excellent novel). There are other authors I love but haven’t read a ton of their books so I haven’t mentioned them here, as I think for someone to be your favourite author you have to have read quite a few of their works!

Have you joined any groups?

I used to be a member of Emma Watson’s feminist book club called ‘Our Shared Shelf’. However, I found the notifications extremely annoying so I left it and will never join another Goodreads group again!

What do you think that Goodreads could do better?

I often find that the app won’t let me sign in due to errors. I also think there should be more ‘if you liked this, then you might like this’ options as the recommendations are never very good on there. It just assumes that because I’ve read 1 book in a certain genre, I must like every book in that genre. But it would be a better if your recommendations were based off of the books you review and the ratings you leave, and there could be an option when reviewing books to say that you’d like to read more like this.

Tagging:

I’m a lazy wotsit today, so I tag ALL OF YOU! Go play!

5 thoughts on “The Goodreads Book Tag.

  1. Goodreads is equal parts amazing and frustrating. Eventually I had to turn off notifications even though I wasn’t in any groups because I was getting tired getting them CONSTANTLY.

    You should continue a Series of Unfortunete Events! I reread them before the show came out and there are all these jokes I didn’t catch as an eleven year old that made the experience that much more enjoyable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

