The Worst Books of 2016.

I love writing posts where I can have a good moan.

 The below is just my opinions – these are books I personally didn’t like for reasons which I will explain below. These are also books that I read in 2016, not books that were published for the first time in 2016.


The Worst Book I Read in January.

Us by David Nicholls. Read more about my disappointment here.


The Worst Book I Read in February.

images.jpegI was highly disappointed with Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. You know how, with some publishers, you have to send off the first 3 chapters and they decide whether they want to read the best based on that? I feel like Aveyard honed and honed her first 3 chapters and then could not be arsed to revise the rest of the book.

 Seriously, it started out so well. The world-building was good and easy to follow and Mare seemed like she was going to be a brilliant protagonist – but she suddenly became the most self-obsessed character I have read about in years.

 This book also made my Top 10 Disappointing Reads so follow the link above if you’re interested in reading more of my thoughts on this one.

The Worst Book I Read in March.

Dare Me by Megan Abbott. This was another book that started out really well, but once I had actually paid money for it, it turned into a pile of crap.

 The annoying thing is that it’s really well-written. The language used is really clever – but the characters were so unlikeable. I know that’s sort of the point, but there has to be someone you feel sorry for. If all the characters in Mean Girls were Regina George, it wouldn’t have been a very engaging film.


The Worst Book I Read in April.

This post is turning into a blatant copy of my disappointing reads post! The worst book I read in April was also on that list – The Light of the Fireflies by Paul Pen.

images This one really saddens me because it started out so well. Nearly all the way through, I was loving this book and I felt like I couldn’t put it down. But then we got the end, and all of a sudden I hated it. A rape victim was made to seem like the villain, while her abusers all got away with it and she was the one to be punished.

 I can think of two reasons or this.

  1. Paul Pen thinks women deserve to be raped and men should have complete power over them. He also thinks female rape victims are ‘sluts’ who should be punished.
  2. The book is from the point-of-view of someone other than the rape victim who does not understand the full horrific nature of what the rape victim has gone through. The events in the book are therefore told in a way that paints her as the antagonist because our protagonist doesn’t want to believe the other members of his family are evil.

I hope that number 2 is the real reason, but even if it is, then I think it was taken too far. I am uncomfortable reading any book that condemns rape victims, even if it is an attempt to realistically show how bystanders make themselves feel better for not helping.

If number 1 is the real reason, then, well, here’s what I think of the author.

Mega-Insult.gif


The Worst Book I Read in May.

I kind of really want to like this book, but I just can’t get on board with The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde. If you’re interested in why, you can read my review here.


The Worst Book I Read in June.

Argh, The Sleep Room by F. R. Tallis was such a disappointment. It sounds like such an exciting, suspenseful read, but it just… wasn’t. I can’t really put my finger on why, but I just found this a tedious, uninventive read.


The Worst Book I Read in July.

July was a kind of boring month for reading for me. Everything I read was just kind of average. There was nothing I loved or hated.

 I went for Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty in the end. I didn’t NOT enjoy it, but it’s definitely not as good as her other books.


The Worst Book I Read in August.

I was expecting this next book to be so good – see (again) my top 10 disappointing reads if you want to know why I didn’t like The Boy Who Could See Demons by Carolyn Jess-Cooke.


The Worst Book I Read in September.

September was another ‘meh’ month for me – there was nothing I had an especially strong opinion about. I chose Cogheart by Peter Bunzl as my least favourite book for this month, because I was just expecting it to be so much better than it turned out to be. I wish I could go back in time and read it as a child, because I think I would have gotten a lot more from it back then.


The Worst Book I Read in October.

I really didn’t like No Virgin by Anne Cassidy. Here’s my review if you’d like to hear more.


images-1The Worst Book I Read in November.

The Rib From Which I Remake the World by Ed Kurtz. I’m not even sure why I read this – someone I follow on Instagram had written a brief but good review of it, and for some reason I decided I was going to read the whole thing despite not enjoying the beginning very much.

 As the book went on, I continued to not enjoy it and yet kept reading. The characters were all unlikeable and interchangeable, and I had the definite feeling from it that women were considered by the author to be not as interesting as men.


The Worst Book I Read in December.

Hmm, this is a hard one. I enjoyed all of the books I read in December. I don’t think anything deserves to be my ‘worst’ book for this month.


The Worst Book I Read in 2016.

The above completes my shortlist, but particular contenders for the top spot were Us by David Nicholls and The Rib From  Which I Remake the World by Ed Kurtz. However, I went for…

 The Light of the Fireflies by Paul Pen.

giphy (1).gif
Todd doesn’t like it either.

Sorry if I mentioned any books you really loved, but ya know… ‘s my opinion!

giphy (2).gif

Thanks for stopping by! 😀

6 thoughts on “The Worst Books of 2016.

Leave a Reply

