The Make-Up Book Tag.

I found this tag on Ariel Bissett’s channel and LOVED it. I love the idea of a tag combining books and make-up – I’ve wanted to do a make-up blog for years but never been able to commit to it the way I have with my book blog. I’m not sure who it was created by unfortunately – even Ariel couldn’t find the original video!

All make-up mentioned is from cruelty-free companies who do not test on animals. However, there are some companies mentioned whose parent companies do test on animals, and I will advise wherever this is the case. I have decided to buy from these companies to make the point that cruelty-free sells, much like if a vegetarian buys a vegetarian meal in a restaurant that also sells meat – they are still funding that company, but they are showing where they stand.

This is obviously just my opinion – if you would rather boycott those companies, that’s fine too!


1. PRIMER – Pick a book that left a lasting impression.

My make-up answer: Originally primers were more about making your make-up stay on longer, whereas now they are more about giving your skin a glow underneath your make-up, or mattifying your skin, and things like that. However, I still maintain that a good primer should make your foundation last longer, and I have never found a primer that does that!

I therefore decided to mention a BB cream that I love instead – the Vitamin E Cool BB Cream from the Body Shop. I love this because it has a slightly darker tint to it, but blends in well so I look more tanned but don’t get an orange-y or fake look with it. It also does WONDERS for my skin if I wear it regularly – it’s very moisturising so works well as skincare as well as make-up, especially for me with my dry skin.

NOTE: The Body Shop are owned by L’Oreal, who test on animals when ‘regulatory authorities demand it’.698c5f41f70791664d5be366c60572bb.jpg

My bookish answer: Room by Emma Donoghue.

There are many books that have left a lasting impression on me, but I chose this one because a) I re-read it recently and b) everyone should read it. It’s about a five-year-old boy called Jack who lives with his Ma in ‘Room’ – a high-security shed in the back garden of Old Nick, the man who kidnapped Ma years earlier. It sounds depressing, and it is very sad in places, but it’s also an amazing insight into the mind of a developing child growing up in very isolated conditions, and there are parts of the book that are really hopeful. And it’s amazingly written.


2. FOUNDATION – Pick your favourite first book in a series.

Make-up answer: I’ve not yet found a cruelty-free foundation that I really love. I’m using a Barry M one at the moment but am not keen on this (even though it’s very cheap, which is nice), so I thought I’d mention one I’d like to try – the Born This Way foundation by Too Faced. Thi51NcMaqTCsL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_s is generally considered to be one of the best foundations on the market. (However, it’s very expensive so even if I love it, I’ll still need to find another one for everyday use!)

Bookish answer: Obviously Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone is amazing, but to be a bit more original I’ll go with The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. This book was a complete surprise for me -I picked it up at a charity stand for 50p and wasn’t expecting much from it, but it turned out to be one of my favourite books from 2016 and the trilogy as a whole was really good.


3. CONCEALER – A character you wish you could get rid of.

Make-up answer: I don’t often use concealer because I don’t get many spots and find that images-4my foundation is enough to conceal most of my blemishes. However, in the past I used to use those awful, £1 concealers that look like lipsticks. I would get the darkest one possible and then put that on under my foundation. (This actually worked quite well for me but for anyone with acne etc it would probably be a really bad idea!)

Bookish answer: I hated most of the characters in Fellside by M. R. Carey, but particularly wanted to get rid of both Grace and Devlin. I just didn’t like this book in general.


4. POWDER – Pick your favourite last book in a series.

Make-up answer: My favourite powder by far is the Emotional Brilliance powder from Lush. It’s good for baking but doesn’t dry out my skin, and it has a nice scent without being too overpowering or messing with my sensitive skin. I thought it was expensive images (3).jpegwhen I first bought it, but it’s lasted ages so was completely worth it. The powder itself is pink so it gives me a bit of a glow as well.

Bookish answer: Ahhh, it’s really hard not to go with Deathly Hallows for this one. It’s quite rare that I like a series enough to finish it.

I went instead for Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian. This is the fifth and final book in the original Percy Jackson series, which I absolutely loved. I feel the books have gone a bit too far now, but I will always remember how much I enjoyed these original five books. The Last Olympian was a really satisfying end to a series that I just devoured.


5. EYEBROWS – A book you think everyone should read.

Make-up answer: My favourite eyebrow product is very new to me – it came in a beauty advent calendar that someone was kind enough to buy for me this year, and it’s the Pixi by Petra brow tamer. I’ve always wanted to try a clear brow gel but they always seemed a bit too expensive for what you get. I love this though and it can also be used on its own.

Bookish answer: To Kill a Mockingbird and the Harry Potter series, of course!


6. EYESHADOW – Pick a book with your favourite colour on the cover.

Make-up answer: I love the Sleek make-up palettes and am a particular fan of the Ultra Mattes V2 and the Au Naturel ones. Sadly one of these has broken and the other juone_day_-_david_nichollsst got really messy, so I am Sleek palette-less at the moment. 😦

Bookish answer: My favourite colour is orange so I chose one of my all-time favourite books, One Day by David Nicholls. This is about Emma Morley and Dexter Mayhew – probably my favourite bookish couple of all time – who meet at university and the book revisits their lives on the same date every year right up into their 40s. If you don’t like romances, please don’t be put off – I’m never drawn to romances but I absolutely love this book. The writing is amazing – Nicholls has this excellent sense of humour which is almost like observational comedy, and he’s also extremely good at simile and metaphor.


7. EYELINER – Pick a dark and mysterious book.

Make-up answer: I’ll mention another product from my advent calendar for this question – the Eyeko skinny liquid eyeliner. I’ve used this a few times now and am really impressed. It’s nice animages (4).jpegd black, and also very easy to control. (Literally, I’ve never found a liquid eyeliner that’s so easy to apply before.) It’s currently only £6 so if you want it, grab it quick! I’ll almost certainly be repurchasing when it runs out.

Bookish answer: The Lodger by Marie Belloc Lowndes.

This wasn’t one of my favourite books I read this year, but I did really enjoy it and it was well-written and creepy. I felt the ending was kind of abrupt and a little bit of a deus ex machina, but all in all I had fun reading it and I would say it’s a very good book. I’d recommend to anyone fascinated by Jack the Ripper, or who is looking for a historical fiction with a bit of a difference.


8. BLUSH – Pick a book with a cringe-y romance.

Make-up answer: I’m still using my old blusher at the moment so don’t have an answer for this. I’d like to try the Too Faced blushers as I love the heart-shaped packaging.

Bookish answer: I hated the love triangle in Splintered by A. G. Howard. I also thought the first love interest, Jeb, was actually kind of abusive. He was very controlling towards Alyssa and often acted like he was her father, not her friend. Morpheus, the second love interest, was a bit of a stalker.

I just find it offensive that these are the kinds of relationships young girls are being images.jpegencouraged to fantasise about. PLEASE, ladies – it’s not mysterious and it’s not sexy. If anyone is following you around and telling you you’re theirs, RUN. If anyone is telling you what to do and where to go, tell them to fuck off.

It’s a shame because the book itself was well-written and the plot was interesting, but the love interests completely put me off reading the rest of the series. If Howard were to re-publish, taking out the romance completely, I think this could have been a 5-star book and I definitely would have bought the sequels. If you’re interested, you can read my review of Splintered here.


9. HIGHLIGHTER – Pick a book that brightened your day.

Make-up answer: For cream highlight, I love the B. Sculpted Contour Kit from Superdrug. It looks a bit crap but once you put it on, it’s actually really subtle and natural-images-2looking. For powder, I like the Makeup Revolution one in Peach Lights. Both of these products are under £4 and I love how they look on my skin.

Bookish answer: Nina Is Not OK by Shappi Khorsandi.

Even though the subject is unpleasant, this book is very funny and very hopeful. It makes clear points on what is and isn’t OK in terms of things like consent, pressure and alcohol intake. At times I felt so angry on Nina’s behalf, and I was so pleased when she took steps towards both ending her alcoholism and bringing her attackers to justice.


10. LIPSTICK – Your favourite bookish kiss.

Make-up answer: I rarely wear lipstick or lipgloss to be honest, as it just comes off when il_570xN.369959656_ka6r.jpgyou eat / drink so I don’t see the point. I do sometimes like it, but there’s no lipstick I absolutely LOVE.

I decided instead to mention a lip balm – the Hemp Lip Protector from the Body Shop. I’m not really a big fan of lip balms either – I’m just more into make-up for my eyes and skin – but I do get very chapped lips in the winter and this lip balm did wonders for the dryness.

NOTE: The Body Shop are owned by L’Oreal, who test on animals when ‘regulatory authorities demand it’.

Bookish answer: The so-called kiss from Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie – Wendy tells Peter she’ll give him a kiss, and he holds out his hand expecting a gift. With an air of resignation, she gives him a thimble instead to avoid hurting his feelings.


11. CONTOUR – Pick a book that could do with some shaping.

Make-up answer: Ah, I love contour. I’m not very good at it, but I do love it.

Currently I’m using the Contour Stick by Collection. It’s not my favourite contouring images.jpegproduct ever, but I do like it and will use it for now. Once it runs out, I’m probably going to have a look at either the Sleek contour palette or the Makeup Revolution ones.

For powder contour, I like the contour shade from the B. kit that I mentioned earlier, but sometimes I like to use a normal bronzer rather than a contour shade, and I use a Ted Baker one that I got out of a gift set a couple of years ago. I can’t find it anywhere online to link to, but it’s in a gold compact and it’s quite shimmery.

Bookish answer: Even though I love it, I think The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling needs some serious editing. It took me a good 100 pages before I started enjoying it, and most people aren’t going to bother ploughing through for so long if a book’s really tedious – and it was tedious up until that point. If any other author had spent that amount of time setting up their characters, they would have been told to cut cut CUT.


I am being laaaaazy today so am not going to tag anyone, so if you’d like to do this tag, just go ahead and do it! 😀 (Also, I don’t think you have to mention your favourite make-up product each time – that was just the way Ariel Bissett did it as she was collaborating with a beauty YouTuber in her video.)

Leave a Reply

