Dashing Through the Snow Book Tag.

I’ve been looking for a good Christmas-themed tag and found this one on My Tiny Obsessions‘ blog. I’m not sure on the creator, unfortunately. I am soooooo looking forward to going to my mum’s for Christmas and reading lots of books, drinking lots of wine and opening lots of prezzies.

On with the tag:

1. Name a book you would like to see under the Christmas tree.

I have asked for The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil, a graphic novel by Stephen Collins, but I think my boyfriend forgot all about that. So I’d like to see it under the tree, but I’m not holding out hope!

 I’d like a nice set of Harry Potter books, as mine are all mismatched and falling apart. I really love these cartoony covers above and would love the hardback set of those, but I also really like the paperback set where all the spines make up a picture of Hogwarts. I think that would look amazing on my shelves!


2. Name a book you’ll be reading during the Christmas season.

51sf-9SvtUL._SX319_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgI’m planning on reading quite a lot over Christmas as I’ll have more time to do it, so I’m going to take my copy of His Dark Materials and try to crack on with The Subtle Knife. Not sure if I’ll move straight on to The Amber Spyglass yet.

 I’d also like to read some of my mum’s classics while I’m there. She has a copy of Nineteen Eighty-Four so maybe it’s time I gave that another go. I also have an orange Penguin edition of The Catcher in the Rye in my old room, which I’ve never properly started reading.


3. Name your favourite Christmas film.

Miracle on 34th Street is my favourite Christmas film (the newer one – I’ve never seen the old one). I honestly haven’t seen that many Christmas films, but the ones I have seen, I love quite a lot. I love The Muppets’ Christmas Carol, Love, Actually and I like Elf but think it’s a tiny bit overrated.

 Miracle on 34th Street is definitely the best. It makes me cry without fail every time, at like four different scenes.

 I also love A Nightmare Before Christmas but I tend to watch that at Halloween. I didn’t this year, though, so might watch it this weekend.


4. Do you like snow?

NO. I liked it when I was a kid but as I got older I realised it causes no end of problems. I haven’t got the right shoes, and even when I do get shoes with a bit of grip, they STILL slip in the snow/ice. I HATE being in a vehicle when it’s snowing. I love the way it looks, though, so I’m happy if it snows on a day when I’m inside and don’t have to do anything, but I want it all gone and not icy the next day!


5. Name a character you’d love to spend Christmas day with.

I feel like Percy Jackson and his mum would put on a great Christmas. His mum always tries so hard to make things nice for him. There’d be a blue version of Christmas dinner and blue puddings, and Mrs. O’Leary would wear reindeer ears. But then we’d probably get attacked by a Minotaur or something.


6. Do you prefer to give or receive?

Normally I love buying Christmas presents, but because I’ve had to put myself on a tighter budget this year, it’s been a bit more stressful. So I’m definitely looking forward to receiving presents most this year!


7. What fictional place would you like to spend Christmas at?

harry-potter-great-hall-09292015

Come on. Is there anyone who wouldn’t want to spend Christmas at Hogwarts?

I don’t like using Harry Potter for tags if I can help it, though, as otherwise it gets a bit same-y because it’s an appropriate answer for nearly every question. So I’d also like to spend Christmas at the Beast’s castle in Disney’s Beauty and the Beast. I love the Christmas scenes in that film, plus you get your own library. Obviously Hogwarts has a library too, but that library has Madame Pince and a bunch of books you don’t have access too.


8. Fondest Christmas memory?

One year, my sister got all my presents and put them in a big box with all those foam ‘S’s in, so I had to jump in and dig each present out. It was awesome as a kid. (My sister’s very good at arranging Christmas stuff.)



9. Can you say ‘Christmas tree’ 10 times in a row, pronouncing it correctly?

I tried and yes I can!


I TAG:

A Book, A Thought

Once Upon a Book Review

Paper, Words and Coffee

5 thoughts on “Dashing Through the Snow Book Tag.

  1. The present your sister did sounds awesome.
    And I love those HP covers. When I needed an update, mine are also mismatched and kinda falling apart, I got the ones illustrated by Kazu Kibuishi , which forms Hogwarts when the books are placed together. I decided on those because I love his illustration of the burrow for the cover of the second book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

