NaNoWriMo Update / Rant.

Look at my chart for NaNo 2016.

Screen Shot 2016-11-24 at 20.50.53.png

LOOK HOW NAUGHTY I AM.

I can’t believe how behind I am. All those tips I had, and all that experience from the last 5 years – and I literally can’t remember the last time I sat and wrote some of my novel.

I mean, there’s still time. And to be fair, I wasn’t really aiming for 50K this year anyway, since it’s a young children’s book that I’m writing. But still – I was hoping for at least 30K, and I really wanted to finish the story before the end of November.

I can’t see that happening, because I’ve hit such a big plot hole. I’m not a pantser usually, but this year I didn’t plan ahead because I wasn’t sure if I’d even be taking part (although I can’t really see a year going by where I don’t at least try). So I’ve hit a brick wall. But I’m sure I will be able to at least hit the 30K, which is slightly more respectable. I don’t want to give up. I don’t.

But I just don’t FEEL like writing!

I’m reading a lot, though, and I’ve been blogging a fair amount. I’ve also written 20K of a novel that I do really like, and am actually looking forward to editing (I NEVER look forward to editing) so November has not been a waste at all. I think, to get myself back on track, I’m going to read up on murder mystery techniques online and maybe read some creative writing books, and then I’ll throw myself back in with some sprints when I feel better about where my story’s going.

I can’t see myself winning this year, but I’m going to make sure I do at least a bit more writing in November. If not by the end of this month, I’d like to finish my story by the end of the year and get on with editing in January.

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update / Rant.

  1. Hey, NaNoWriMo got you on a roll, right? Sometimes motivation/inspiration comes and goes. There’s nothing wrong with that. You got a good amount accomplished this month, evidently. You’re a winner in my book!
    I’ve just explored your blog a bit as well. I too am a fan of Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird! You have a great blog, I’ve just subscribed!

    Like

    1. Ah thank you! 🙂 I still don’t feel like writing (I’m so lazy) but I am going to continue with this novel. Maybe when I’ve got my week off over Christmas I’ll try and power through it.
      Ooh lovely thank you! I’ll check out your blog too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

