Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Want to Re-Read.

 Top 5 Wednesday is a meme created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Thoughts on Tomes. Here’s the link to the Goodreads group.

I won’t be partaking every Wednesday – if I try to blog on a particular day each week, I always end up losing interest – but I thought it would be a fun meme to dip in and out of.

This week’s theme is books I want to re-read. Most of the books below are books that I do really want to re-read but I’m kind of intimidated by the idea of re-reading them, either because they’re really long or because I feel like my opinion might change the second time around.


White Teeth by Zadie Smith.

I talk about how good this book is a lot, but it’s such a big book and I’ve only read it once, and that was a long time ago, so I can’t really remember much about it. All I remember is that it was really good and I want to enjoy it again some time soon.

images.jpeg

We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler.

I always mention this book in lists of my all-time favourites and the best books I’ve ever read, but I’ve only read it once and feel like if it’s on those lists, I should be re-reading it quite a lot. I’m a bit scared of re-reading this because part of the reason I enjoyed it so much was because I had no idea what was going on. Now that I know the twist, I may not enjoy it so much so I’m avoiding re-reading it at the moment in case I lose those warm feelings I get when I think about it.

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.

I read this classic at university and was pleasantly surprised. I’d really like to give it another go but I never seem to be in the right frame of mind for it.

Life of Pi by Yann Martel.

I had a lovely time reading this book the first time and I think I’ll really enjoy it again when I re-read it, but again, I never seem to be in the right mood for it. It’s also quite long and I can’t seem to face the idea of re-reading long books (because they don’t count for my Goodreads challenge… naughty Emma! That is not the right bookish attitude!)

images (1).jpeg

The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling.

The first time I read this, I was close to giving up, but I ploughed on because I was so excited that JKR had released a new book. I was really glad I stuck with it in the end, but it took me a  good 100 pages before I started to enjoy it, and that’s what’s putting me off re-reading it.

I may just re-watch the BBC series – although that made me want to re-read it even more…


Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Want to Re-Read.

Leave a Reply

