Flailing at NaNoWriMo.

Here’s a quick update on how I’m doing with NaNoWriMo 2016:

I put ‘flailing’ rather than ‘failing’ because, however much it feels like it, I haven’t failed yet! We are only in the first week and even though it looks kind of bleak, I know that there’s still plenty of time for me to get my mojo back.

My novel is going along at a snail’s pace but it is still going along and I won’t be giving up. However, I had a panic earlier when I realised that I feel like I’ve used up most of my plot ideas already and haven’t even reached 7000 words yet!

200_s.gif

I’m a couple of days behind: I’ve been extremely lazy so far this November. Normally, I write loads the first week and get a day or so ahead, but I just can’t seem to get into it this year.

writing-bad.gif

I haven’t got anything planned for this weekend, so I’m going to do my very best to attend a write-in on Saturday and hopefully get a load of words done. I’ll try to remember to take my laptop to work as well next week, so at least I can update my word count stats and make myself feel better, even if it still takes me a couple of days to catch up!

If you’re in the same boat as me, I hope that my NaNoWriMo tips might give you a hand, although clearly I’m not following my own advice at the moment. I am going to do a few sprints now though and see how it goes.


In bookish news:

I don’t have a book on the go as the last one I read distracted me far too much from my writing. My wrap-up will probably be quite small at the end of this month, then, so I’m almost certainly not going to hit my Goodreads target of 100 books this year!

I think this is a small sacrifice for a first draft, though. I’m hoping to complete my story in November and get it all edited and ready to send off to a publisher by April next year. (The reason I chose April is because that’s when my friend’s baby is due, and I thought that way she could show off her new baby to me and I could show off my new novel to her and we would both be really happy together.)

(I’m such a weirdo.)

Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Flailing at NaNoWriMo.

Leave a Reply

