What’s On My Kindle? (And My TBR List)

I’m not sure if this is a tag, but I’ve seen several YouTube videos discussing books that people have on their ebook readers. I’m a massive ebook fan so I’ve wanted to do this post for a while.

I have a tablet and one of the original Kindles (the best kind!), but I never use the tablet for reading (or anything else, really) and I only use the Kindle if I know I’ll be reading in the sun a lot (i.e. when I go abroad, which is hardly ever). I still love my Kindle, but I’m just so used to reading on my phone now. (People always tell me they can’t do this because it hurts their eyes, but phone screens are massive now and you can change the font size etc really easily.)

This is a great method for me, because I’ve almost always got my phone on me, whereas I often forget to bring along the book I’m reading. You can read in awkward situations as well, like in a bus queue or crammed into a train with loads of people squashed against you.

But anyway, here’s the books I have on my Kindle app.


My TBR Carousel.
I use the ‘carousel’ screen on the app to keep track of my TBR list. One of my absolute favourite things about ebooks is that you can download a sample, usually a first chapter or two, to read later. Whenever I hear about a book that sounds interesting, I download a sample, then when I’m in between books I’ll read through those samples and work out which ones I might like to buy. I delete the samples that don’t really grip me, and keep the ones that held my interest on my carousel so I’ll remember to buy it at some point.

At the moment, I have:

birthmarkedpbcover images (5).jpeg images (6).jpeg 41iqVdQGwnL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg images (7).jpeg images (8).jpeg images (9).jpeg images-10images-11 images (12).jpeg vagina.jpg images (13).jpeg images (14).jpeg images (15).jpeg everyday-sexism-9781471149207_hr.jpg

  1. Birthmarked by Caragh O’Brien – I haven’t yet read this sample, so have no idea if I’ll eventually want to buy it. I was drawn to it because it was described as ‘The Hunger Games meets The Handmaid’s Tale‘ – even though I haven’t actually read The Handmaid’s Tale!
  2. Battling the Gods: Atheism in the Ancient World by Tim Whitmarsh. I watched this video by JeanBookishThoughts and she recommended this. I thought it sounded interesting, as I kind of always assumed everyone in the ancient civilisations believed in God! Haven’t read this sample yet either.
  3. Goddesses, Whores, Wives & Slaves by Sarah J. Pomeroy. Also recommended in the video above. Also haven’t read this sample yet.
  4. Fellside by M. R. Carey. I will definitely be buying this soon. The sample was really gripping and I also just finished The Girl With All the Gifts by the same author, and think it may have given me a bit of a book hangover, so I feel like I need to read something else by Carey soon. This is about a woman who wakes up in prison with no idea what crime she’s committed.
  5. Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. Heard so many good things about it, and the main character’s a Harry Potter fan so I love him already.
  6. The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige. The sample didn’t really grip me but I enjoyed the first book in this series, Dorothy Must Die, so want to read this eventually.
  7. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. Again, I didn’t love this sample but I DID love Cinder, so want to pick this up soon. Waiting to have a bit of extra cash so I can get the hardback.
  8. Britt-Marie Was Here by Fredrik Backman. Backman is swiftly becoming my bae, and this is pretty cheap on Amazon so will probably buy it soon.
  9. Faery Tales by Carol Ann Duffy. I discovered Duffy’s poems at school and loved them, but I’ve never read her prose before. I’m intrigued by these fairytale retellings as I love her dark style.
  10. Why God Is a Woman by Nin Andrew. I saw this recommended by Jen Campbell on her YouTube channel. I realised the other day that, even though I used to love poetry, I hardly ever read it anymore. I thought this might get me back into it.
  11. The Medieval Vagina by Karen Harris and Lori Caskey-Sigety. A very interesting topic for a non-fiction book, this is a collection of essays on how women – and their vaginas – were viewed in medieval times. It discusses the treatment and understanding of periods and so on, and the sample is informative but light-hearted.
  12. Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas. I read this sample ages ago and really wanted to buy it, but for some reason still haven’t got around to it. It’s about penpals who have conflicting illnesses, so will never be able to meet – one is ‘allergic to electricity’, the other has a pacemaker.
  13. Flawed by Cecelia Ahern. I was intrigued by the sample but am holding off buying it because I really want the USA hardback cover. It’s so pretty! (Lord knows how I’ll get hold of it, though.)
  14. My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga. Seems like one of those books I just know I’m going to love, but again, I’d like to get the hardcover of this one so am waiting for a bit.
  15. Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates. This is about the types of harassment that women are so often the victims of and which so often get brushed off. It talks about things like wolf-whistling, but also has accounts from women who, for example, have been groped by strangers so many times that they just feel it’s an everyday thing. I really want to get around to this one soon.

Books I’ve Finished. (Not all of them – too many to list here! I’ve tried to only mention ones that I’ve not talked much about on my blog.)

The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer / Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill / The Axeman’s Jazz by Ray Celestin / The Amateur Marriage by Anne Tyler / The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood / Galatea by Madeline Miller / All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven / Fight Club by Chuck Palahnuik / We Were Liars by e. lockhart / Landline by Rainbow Rowell / He Who Dares by ‘Del Boy’ / Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes / The Photographer’s Wife by Nick Alexander / The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella / The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman / Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne / Here Be Dragons by Sharon Penman / Life of Pi by Yann Martel / Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy / Thrift by Phil Church …

…Annnnnd that’ll do for now.


Creative Writing.

I also have some creative writing how-to books on my Kindle. I won’t mention all of them, but in particular I’d like to mention The 365-Day Writer’s Block Workbook (Volume 2) by Morgen Bailey. This is literally just a group of words for each day, and the idea is to start writing and try to use some or all of those words in your writing. It sounds so simple but it’s really effective. It’s a great way to keep you going and for that reason is great for NaNoWriMo, if you’re participating.


DNF.

I also have a couple of ebooks on my Kindle that I’ve started but not finished – criminal, I know!

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens.
Look Who’s Back by Timur Vermes.
The Girls by Emma Cline.

Oh, ok, three isn’t too bad. I thought it was a lot worse than that.

I loved the film versions of Oliver Twist (specifically Oliver!) and Look Who’s Back, but I found the books really hard-going and I don’t think I’ll be bothering to try and finish them again. I would like to try again with The Girls though as people have raved about it so much.


So there’s an abridged version of what’s on my Kindle (app)! Hopefully, if you’re unsure about ebooks, I’ve warmed you to them a little. I think they’re a great option as they’re cheaper and MUCH easier to store than physical books – although obviously it’s lovely to have shelves full of books as well.

Thanks for stopping by!

 

I should probably mention that I’m not sponsored by and do not have any material connection with Kindle, Amazon or any brands / companies that supply ebooks. I’ve mentioned the word ‘Kindle’ a few times here because that’s the ereader and app that I use and have found to be good quality. I’m purely writing this post because I want to champion the ebook format, not for any monetary gain.

10 thoughts on “What’s On My Kindle? (And My TBR List)

  1. You’ve got some interesting titles in your TBR.. a few of those I definitely need to check out… for example, Goddesses, Whores, Wives & Slaves by Sarah J. Pomeroy. What a title 😀

    Like

  2. Nice selection of books there. I didn’t know samples could be deleted! I recently started reading on my iPad more because I borrow ebooks from my library.
    I need to read the Girls too. The book got great reviews at first but now they seem to be mixed. Why’d you dnf it at first?

    Like

    1. I’m not really sure why – I was vaguely enjoying the writing but nothing was really pushing me to keep reading. I didn’t get that far in though so will defo try again. I was trying to work out how to borrow ebooks last night but I think my library are too old fashioned xD

      Like

  3. I always carry my phone with the kindle app and my Kindle everywhere, literally everywhere, haha! I just switched my iPhone for a better one, and the screen is bigger, which means I can finally read on it. It’s so easy to hoard on books on an e-reader, you don’t see the place they take, and Amazon makes it too easy to get them!
    I have a copy (physical!) of Flawed, I can’t wait to read it, I love dystopians! I read a review of Fellside and have had it on my wish list for some time 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

