Waterstones & Amazon Book Haul.

YAY I BOUGHT BOOKS YAAAAAY.

I was going to be good, but I ended up on the Waterstones website (I don’t know how it happened) and saw that they had a sale on! Wooooo! So, I mean, it’d be rude not to.


Screen Shot 2016-10-29 at 16.09.46.png

I love Susan Hill’s The Woman in Black and I generally trust her as a writer. Even if a book by her isn’t amazing plot-wise, I can still guarantee it will give me chills. So when I saw she had a new book of short stories out, I knew I wanted to pick it up at some point, and then I saw how cheap the hardback was and I had a book freakout.

(It’s not as tall as I expected though so it took a few goes to work out how I wanted to display it on my shelves… #bookwormproblems.)

I also got The Secret of Nightingale Wood by Lucy Strange. This looks like the sort of thing I would have adored as a child so I’m hoping to have a lovely time reading it. It’s about a young book-lover who moves away with her parents after the death of her little brother, and what she finds in the woods by the new house.

I also bought…

The Vegetarian by Han Kang. I read the ebook a while back and wanted a physical copy as the cover is stunning. It’s so shimmery!

Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows. I’ve been seeing this book everywhere online and the other day I finally downloaded a sample on my Kindle. I was pleasantly surprised by what I read and decided to grab a copy, as it was fairly cheap. (I restrained myself from buying Crooked Kingdom though.)

So, I bought these online and when I went into the store to pick them up I was like, ‘Great, I don’t have to spend any more money on these books! Yay!’ But of course, they had ‘buy one get one half price’ stickers staring me in the face. So I got SPQR by Mary Beard for my mum’s birthday, and as it was part of the offer, I also got her How To Be a Tudor by Ruth Goodman. Mum likes her history books. (I’m tempted to keep SPQR for myself… but I’m sure I can read hers when she’s done with it. Yay for book-loving mums.)


14964215_10154646770188399_2048002296_o.jpg
My kettle and toaster are so shit. But at least I have nice Union Jack scales. I’m really not a photographer.

I also bought a couple of books from Amazon. The first was Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse by Chris Riddell, which I bought because I’m writing a spooky children’s story for NaNoWriMo this year (500 words so far! Woo!) and wanted to have a look at some other stories in that vein.

However, as it’s so pretty, I decided it would make a nice Christmas present for my 9-year-old niece (but I am going to be naughty and read it first – taking care not to crease the spine of course!). I will make her enjoy reading, I will.

I also got a Christmas present for my sister: a Beasts of Tolkien adult colouring book. We went to Waterstones together a little while ago and she really liked this, so I filed it away in my head and went hunting later for the same book but this time I couldn’t find it anywhere in the shop! So I found one online instead.

Finally, I treated myself to My Grandmother Sends her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman. I read A Man Called Ove by the same author earlier this year and thought it was wonderful, so I’d love to read more of Backman’s work. (I have now finished this book and have to say it was amazing! But more on that later.)

Thanks for stopping by!

8 thoughts on “Waterstones & Amazon Book Haul.

Leave a Reply

