The Queen Book Tag.

Thanks so much to Zezee With Books for tagging me! Queen are my all-time favourite band and I basically think that if a song’s not by Queen then it’s probably not worth listening to. (I mean, there are exceptions, but rest assured, Queen are the best band ever.)

This tag was created by Josh at Literary Gladiators.

1. Bohemian Rhapsody – A work that you feel successfully tells the story from multiple points of view?
images (1).jpeg

The Sunne in Splendour by Sharon Penman.

This is an epic novel spanning the life of Richard III from his childhood all the way to the day he died. It’s told from many different viewpoints, including Richard’s own and that of his wife, Anne Neville.

Penman is a fabulous historical novelist. I’ve only read this one and Here Be Dragons, another vast work. I want to read more of Penman’s novels but am putting them at the bottom of my TBR list for the moment as they are all very, VERY long.


2. We Will Rock You / We Are the Champions – A work/series/author you follow and support the way a sports fan supports their fave team?

tumblr_mhlx4cGK951qfwmwto2_500.gif
Oh, Freddie. :’)

I hate using Harry Potter in tags because it all becomes very same-y, but there’s not really anything else that I follow with such loyalty. Liane Moriarty and Philippa Gregory are both auto-buys for me, but my love for HP is all-encompassing.


3. Don’t Stop Me Now – A work you can’t put down?

The Robert Langdon books by Dan Brown (The Da Vinci Code etc) were all very difficult to put down as they were such exciting reads. Same for Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I also found the first book in the Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness, A Knife of Never Letting Go, extremely hard to put down as they were essentially being chased throughout the whole story so it was very tense the whole time.


4. Killer Queen – A dominant or badass female character?

I’ve got to go with Katniss Everdeen from the Hunger Games trilogy for this one. She’s a brilliantly strong female character, without the rolling of the eyes that the words ‘strong female character’ now inspires. (See my post about Why Tough Girls Need to Calm Down.)


5. Crazy Little Thing Called Love – A work that includes a ridiculous/forced relationship?

images (2).jpeg

I found the relationship between David and Tally quite forced in the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld. They fell in love very quickly and Tally was a little too willing to break her friend’s heart in the process. Her relationship with another character later in the series was also a bit weird and didn’t feel right, then when David came back into it I wasn’t really comfortable with her going back to him.


6. Under Pressure – A work you were pressured to read (by a teacher/peer/Booktube)?

I did English at GCSE, A Level and uni, so I’ve been made to read several books by teachers in my time. However, one that stands out in particular is Hamlet by William Shakespeare, because I did that at A Level and then had to study it AGAIN in my first year of uni.

(I liked it at first. I did not like it by the end of first year. I like it again now though.)


7. I Want to Break Free – A pioneering feminist work?

Zezee With Books has already said the answer I’d have liked to give – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – so I’ll go with The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte, which I read this year and don’t think is talked about enough. This was a really enjoyable novel and must have been quite scandalous for its time, as it’s about a single mother who has basically made the decision to leave her husband because he’s a dickhead. Girl power!


8. Radio Ga Ga – A dystopian work that makes you uneasy, because you feel its predictions are/will be correct?

images (3).jpeg

Definitely Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill. In the world of this novel, women are essentially farmed and are schooled in how to look good and capture a man, to either become his concubine or wife, or to stay at the school to teach future generations of so-called ‘Eves’. We already place so much value on the way women look in our own society today, so I don’t think O’Neill’s future is a far cry from what could end up happening.

(I also can’t comment on similarities between this and Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, as I haven’t read that one yet.)

9. I Want It All – An author/collection you want to own in their entirety?

I have these stunning editions of Wuthering Heights and Selected Tales by the Brothers Grimm, and would very much like to complete this collection. I’d also love to own all of the Penguin Horror books.

I found a fab little bookshop in Cornwall this week where I discovered a gorgeous collection of illustrated editions of classics, with gilt pages, that I want want WANT, but can’t find online. 😥


10. Innuendo – The most suggestive line in literature (like an innuendo)?

I need to see the place where Malfoy keeps coming secretly… I need to see the place where Malfoy keeps coming secretly…

Harry tried every variation of ‘I need to see what Draco Malfoy is doing inside you’ that he could think of for a whole hour(…)

‘I’m his Head of House, and I shall decide how hard, or otherwise, to be,’ said Snape curtly. ‘Follow me, Draco.’

Hahahahahahaha. Rowling must have been in such a dirty frame of mind when she wrote Half-Blood Prince. There’s so many innuendos.


11. I’m Going Slightly Mad – A work you enjoy for its eccentricity?

9781447279990Alice-s Adventures in Wonderland.jpg

Surely anyone who’s read Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll would have to give this answer. I love this and its sequel, Alice Through the Looking-Glass, equally, and they are both equally mad.


12. The Show Must Go On – A work you enjoyed that was posthumously released?

I confess I had to Google this as I didn’t know if anything I’ve read was posthumously published. Turns out that nope, none of it was. However, most of Wilfred Owen’s poems were published after his death, and he’s one of the war poets I liked the most (though I haven’t read any for a while).


13. Playlist – What are your favourite Queen songs?

My favourites change all the time, but at the moment I probably like Under Pressure best, and Bohemian Rhapsody, Somebody to Love and Don’t Stop Me Now are always up in my top five. I’m a big fan of singing I Want to Break Free while hoovering.


14. Somebody to Love – Who do you tag?

The Orangutan Librarian
The Ravenclaw Book Club
Bookshelves & Biros
Getting Through Anxiety

And anyone else who’s looking for blog-post inspiration 🙂

tumblr_n2uo6hL1ql1skf3qto1_500.gif

Thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “The Queen Book Tag.

  1. Ah! Glad you did the tag! Btw, I recently placed Tenant of Wildfell Hall on my TBR because I heard if a reader likes Jane Eyre, then she’ll like Tenant too. I’m looking forward to it.
    Lol at those innuendos in HP.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

