How to Get Free Books.

We all love books, but they cost a bomb. Here’s some thrifty ways to curb your bookish spending habit and still read lots of books you haven’t read before.

1. Start a book blog.

If you have a blog, you can sign up to websites such as Netgalley and request a digital copy of a book before it’s published. I like this way of getting free books because it makes you feel like a member of an exclusive club, getting to read books before they hit the shelves, and generally most of the books I’ve gotten from it have been pretty good. You’re not always guaranteed to get the ebooks that you request, but the more you review, the more likely you are to be approved for the next one.

Also, I just checked my NetGalley and I’ve received a copy of Swing Time by Zadie Smith.

QLEyJ.gif

2. Sign up for free trials.

Obviously you need to remember to cancel these, otherwise it will end up veeeerrrry expensive. (As I found out the hard way with Amazon Prime.) (Although I still argue that one-day delivery and all seasons of Downton Abbey were worth £70 a year.)

One that I’m thinking of in particular is Audible, where you can sign up for a free trial and get a free audiobook of your choosing. I did carry on with the subscription for a while but found it wasn’t really worth it in the end, since I have a habit of falling asleep and losing my place entirely… This is never a problem with ebooks.

 

3. Use your local library.

Throughout my school life, I spent hours in the library. Me and my friends in secondary school were essentially the Scooby Gang (from Buffy, not from Scooby Doo) as we spent every break- and lunch-time in the library.

InESCUz4faHTy.gif

I’ve tried going to libraries in recent years but have found they’re just a bit rubbish. They don’t have much of a selection, and they don’t give you long enough to read the books. (Surely it makes sense that they’d give you more time if you’re taking out a massive pile of books?!)

However, if you’re happy with your library’s selection, then definitely go for it! This is the best way to access a variety of free literature.

 

4. Raid your mum’s bookshelves.

I said ‘mum’ specifically because my mum is a massive book hoarder, and we’re both historical fiction fans so she always has something I want to read. Obviously, though, you can raid the bookshelves of anyone who is willing to let you. Be respectful of their property, though, of course.

 

5. Get a loyalty card for your local bookshop.

Obviously points cards work differently depending on which shop you’re in, but at the moment Waterstones do a stamp card where you get a stamp every time you spent £10. Once you’ve filled the card (I think there’s 6 stamps to a card) you get £10 to spend in store. Most of their mainstream paperbacks are around £7.99 so that’s a free book for every £60 you spend!

(I bloody love Waterstones.)

 

6. Look out for free ebooks.

Sometimes you might just get lucky – by sheer coincidence, I searched for a Dorothy Must Die ebook during the week it was free on Amazon – but there are lots of websites where you can sign up to a newsletter that lets you know what free ebooks are available at that time. I have found that the books I’ve found this way have not been especially well-written, but you never know if you might stumble across a diamond in the rough.

dd4e08_275b13debe87482584bb1613099e52f1.gif
Jafar is me trying to find a book as good as Wonder.

Thanks for stopping by! ❤

2 thoughts on “How to Get Free Books.

  1. This is a great list. I tend to think that starting a book blog just to get free books is bad advice. There is so much more to it and it is so easy to get overwhelmed with too many requests. I like the idea of the library and free trials though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

