Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Took Ages to Finish.

 Top 5 Wednesday is a meme created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Thoughts on Tomes. Here’s the link to the Goodreads group.

I won’t be partaking every Wednesday – if I try to blog on a particular day each week, I always end up losing interest – but I thought it would be a fun meme to dip in and out of.


The Understudy by David Nicholls.

I read this shortly after reading One Day, one of my favourite books of all time, and Starter for Ten, both by David Nicholls, so obviously I was expecting great things. Unfortunately The Understudy just didn’t grip me as much and it took me ages to get through it.

7105c1a8165ae9040fa3e1d795dfbc40.jpg

A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin.

It took me a while to even think about reading this, since I knew what a long series it was and didn’t want to commit. I’m also a big fan of the TV show and was hoping for the book to be just as gripping. Sadly it’s kind of what I expected: epic fantasy packed with multitudes of information that I just can’t be bothered to wade through. I did finish the book but I put it down halfway through and it was months before I forced myself to pick it up again.

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens.

I want so badly to be a Dickens fan, but it’s not meant to be. The only one I enjoy is A Christmas Carol, because a) it’s about Christmas, b) it’s short and c) when I read the dialogue, I can hear the Muppets in my head.

I did manage to trudge through Great Expectations but it was a real trek. I didn’t particularly enjoy it. (This was another David Nicholls disappointment – I read it because I knew he was writing the screenplay for the film at the time.)

Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire.

You may know I’m a big fan of musicals. I’ve been to see Wicked twice so thought I would give the book a go, but quickly learned that it was almost nothing like the show.

It was all over the place, with no clear structure to the narrative, and the characters were boring AF. I don’t think it took me a stupidly long time to read, but it felt like ages.

41xzmg4ddal-_sx322_bo1204203200_

Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie.

I read this at university and it was really good, but it’s very wordy and took me a long time to get through. I need to re-read it as I don’t really have much more to say than that, but I know I’d definitely recommend it.

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Took Ages to Finish.

Leave a Reply

