13 thoughts on “Book Review: ‘Monsters of Men’ by Patrick Ness.

  1. I TOTALLY FEEL YOU ABOUT MANCHEE. God, I miss that bloody dog.

    “Ness manipulated the reader like a master when it came to Mayor Prentiss. I was even beginning to believe he’d changed – and he does change, just not in the way you’d expect.” – this is totally spot on. I thought he was one of most interesting and well written villains I’ve read about in YA, which is especially impressive considering I didn’t rate him as much more than your average dystopian overlord in the first book.

    That ending though, right? It was so dramatic but I’m not sure how I feel about the short story at the end. It was almost like Ness regretted his decision and then went back to iron it out lol?

    Great review. 🙂 x

    Like

    1. Same, I had no interest in the mayor in the first two books but he was awesome in this one. Ness is just GOOD at this stuff, like when he did it with Davy in book 2. I have to admit I skimmed most of the short story… I just felt like it should have been left alone x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg, I am still mourning Manchee. Even reading your review made me well up a bit haha 😥 I cried so much after what happened in The Knife of Never Letting Go. I loved this book, but I definitely understand what you mean about the switching POVs. I preferred reading Todd’s POV, but I can see why the others were needed. Mayor Prentiss was definitely one of the best villains I’ve ever read. I also found him strangely likeable at points. I like how nothing is black and white in these books, and people who you thought you hated can end up surprising you. For example Davey in The Ask and the Answer (more tears…) Great review 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

