Around the World in YA Book Tag.

Thanks so much to Izzi at The Ravenclaw Book Club for tagging me! Here’s a link to the original tag by Becca and Books too.

There are no specific questions for this tag – you just name some countries and then pick a book that’s set there. I decided to choose 5 countries in total.

1. AUSTRALIA.

Little Lies by Liane Moriarty.

little-lies

I’ve read several Liane Moriarty books and they are generally about the same characters with different names, but despite this, I’ve really enjoyed everything I’ve read by her. She’s got a great knack for putting words together and is very easy to read.

I chose this one in particular because it’s one I’ve been thinking about rereading a lot lately. It was published as Big Little Lies in Australia and America.

 

2. SOUTH KOREA.

The Vegetarian by Han Kang.

56abcc1b1f00007f00216f6a

This book was very different to anything else I’d ever read. It’s about a young woman who decides to become a vegetarian overnight, because of a dream she’s had. Her family are disgusted with her and even try to force-feed her meat. What starts off as simple vegetarianism quickly becomes mental illness, and the book is written from the narrative of the woman’s husband, sister and brother-in-law, but never from her own point-of-view.

 

3. GERMANY.

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne.

Theboyinthestripedpyjamas

I’ve mentioned this a few times as it’s one of my all-time favourites, and one of the few books that I truly think is perfect. If you haven’t already read it, please do. It’s very sad and very wonderful.

 

4. INDIA.

Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie.

MidnightsChildren

I can’t remember if I ever actually got to the end of this one, but if I DNF then I don’t know why because I remember really liking the way it was written.

It’s about children who are born at midnight on 15th Aug 1947, the date that India gained independence from Britain. It transpires that these children are imbued with special powers, but the book itself is about one boy in particular. It’s sort of like historical fiction but with the fantasy element as well, and again, I’ve never really read anything like it before.

 

5. ENGLAND.

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly.

book-of-lost-things-uk-225

This is a twisted fairytale for adults, with a child narrator, set in a land where fairytales have been turned on their heads. Normally when you think of a ‘twisted fairytale’ you think of creepy versions of Alice in Wonderland or something like that, but this book weaves classic fairytales together, changing the originals to make them (even) more gruesome, sometimes making up new fairytales completely. It’s an absolute gem of a book.


I TAG:

Muggins Here

The Orang-Utan Librarian

The Tattooed Book Geek

The Belgian Reviewer

Bookshelves & Biros

Heart Via Pages

^ Sorry if any of you have already done this tag!

15 thoughts on “Around the World in YA Book Tag.

  1. i have been wanting to read Vegetarian for a while now, but just haven’t gotten around to it. It sounds so creepy and interesting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

