The Diverse Books Tag.

Thanks so much to Izzi at The Ravenclaw Book Club for tagging me!

Lately, I’ve been trying to read more diverse books. I feel like I’m stuck in a Western bubble and I need to sort this out. I’m embarrassed by how much I had to Google books for this tag.

THE RULES.

The Diverse Books Tag is a bit like a scavenger hunt. I will task you to find a book that fits a specific criteria and you will have to show us a book you have read or want to read. If you can’t think of a book that fits the specific category, then I encourage you to go look for one. A quick Google search will provide you with many books that will fit the bill. (Also, Goodreads lists are your friends.) Find one you are genuinely interested in reading and move on to the next category.

THE QUESTIONS.

1. Find a book starring a lesbian character.

I have read Rubyfruit Jungle, but that would be stealing Izzi’s answer so I’m afraid I had to Google this one.

I still haven’t read Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters, so I think I’m going to have to get hold of this soon. Of course I saw it in a charity shop a couple of weeks ago and didn’t pick it up… *Eyeroll*

 

2. Find a book with a Muslim protagonist.

514pg6W7kCL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

Sofia Khan is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik.

I’m actually reading this at the moment. It’s about a Muslim girl working in the publishing industry who agrees to write a book about the troubles of Muslim dating. It’s a pretty fluffy read so far but it’s interesting to hear about how it feels to be a Muslim living in England.

 

3. Find a book set in Latin America.

0802170102

OH MY GOD I JUST GOOGLED THIS AND DISCOVERED THAT CITY OF GOD IS A BOOK.

I LOVED this film. I so need to read this book!

 

4. Find a book about a person with a disability.

images (2)

The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley.

I finally got this book after trying to find a cheap copy for aaaages so I will be reading soon! This is about a young disabled girl who is evacuated with her brother during the war.

 

5. Find a science-fiction or fantasy book with a POC (person of colour) protagonist.

I couldn’t think of an answer for this, and while that is mostly down to me not reading diversely enough, it’s also due to the fact that I don’t read a lot of scifi or fantasy anyway. However, I did find The Lost Girl by Sandu Mandanna on Goodreads, which sounds like it has a really interesting, unique idea at its core.

 

6. Find a book set in/about any country in Africa.

images (3)

For this, I chose The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith, which I read at school. (It’s set in Botswana.) I really enjoyed it when we read it in class but when I tried to read the rest of the series I couldn’t get into it, and haven’t been able to reread this book either. I think I’ll try the audiobooks instead, as I remember loving it in class.

 

7. Find a book written by an Indigenous or Native author.

I’m a bit baffled by this question as indigenous means ‘naturally existing’ in a place rather than having migrated there, so surely that could mean an author from anywhere in the world?

If people can please explain to me what this question means, I will happily answer it!

 

8. Find a book set in South Asia (Afghanistan, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka etc).

I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai.

51dVLcrS0gL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This is a non-fiction book about what it’s like to grow up female in Pakistan, and fighting for an education. Malala was famously shot by the Taliban for standing up for her beliefs. It’s one of those books that everyone, particularly women, should feel duty-bound to read at some point in their lives.

 

9. Find a book with a biracial protagonist.

I recently read Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield, which was an amazing book and featured a mixed-race protagonist.

I also want to read Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell as soon as I can get my hands on the edition I like.

 

10. Find a book starring a transgender character or about transgender issues.

The Girl Who Just Appeared by Jonathan Harvey.

images (1)

5 thoughts on “The Diverse Books Tag.

  1. Aw you could have said Rubyfruit Jungle, it’s not like the answer belongs to me. 😂

    Sofia Khan is not Obliged is on my wishlist! It sounds great.

    Indigenous or Native means someone from a Native community. Native Americans for example. It doesn’t refer to people from Europe, but people who lived in a place before Europeans arrived. 😃

    Like

      1. Yes, that’s it exactly. Australia also has an important Native community, and there are lots of others too, but the most “famous” Natives (the ones that people usually refer to when talking about Indigenous people) are Native Americans. 😃

        Like

Leave a Reply

