The Spotlight Movie Tag.

Thanks so much to Getting Through Anxiety for nominating me for this tag, which came to her in a dream :O she’s psychic…

This is a non-book-related tag, just for a little change of scenery.

THE RULES.

  • Post the tag image with your post.
  • Tag people.
  • Have fun!

 

THE QUESTIONS.

1. Uh-oh, not again! What’s a movie that you think is too predictable?

I’m actually really bad at guessing the endings of films, so whenever someone says a film’s predictable I’m like, ‘Oh, really?’

However, I do find superhero films pretty predictable. The most recent one I watched was Deadpool and I found I was rolling my eyes a lot. It was also trying too hard to be funny.

 

2. I can’t believe I’m crying! What’s a movie that made you cry (or close to it)?

So many movies make me cry. I love a good cry.

These are a few of the main ones that make me cry. Calendar Girls makes me cry without fail at exactly the same scene each time, and then immediately after it always makes me laugh with this little throwaway joke.

Homeward Bound and its sequel are both absolute killers and have me in tears every single time.

 

3. Ah, the simplest things make me laugh! What’s a movie where even the small comments in it crack you up?

snatch.jpg

Here’s a link to a prime example of why Snatch has one of the most hilarious screenplays ever written.

“Yeah, that’s perfectly clear, Mickey, yeah.”

And here’s another example:

bullet dodger

bullets

4. I don’t care if this movie is animated; I still love it! What’s an animated movie you love?

I LOVE ALL THE ANIMATED MOVIES, ALL OF THEM.

Aw man, I can’t pick a favourite! I’ll just have to mention a few of my best-loved ones:

Also these:

Ooh, can’t leave out these:

OK Emma, stop it now.

(I also really really love The Sword in the Stone which is a really underrated movie and I just needed to mention it here because it’s so good and no one talks about it and it’s so funny and oh my GOD go watch it and remind yourself how awesome it is thank you please.)

 

5. I don’t care if this might not be possible in real life; I love this movie anyway! What’s a sci-fi movie you love?

rocky horror

“I see you shiver with antici-

-pation.”

 

6. Ugh, this movie is awful! What’s a movie you did not like at all?

I found The Time Traveller’s Wife so, so dull. I was in the cinema with friends as well so I couldn’t just switch it off. I also really didn’t like 500 Days of Summer or Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, after years of everyone telling me they were amazing…

Eurgh, I hated Brokeback Mountain too. Basically, any film my neighbours made me watch at uni. Screw their girly tastes.

Oh, and 12 Years a Slave, as well. I get that it’s important subject matter, but it’s not a documentary – you need the odd light-hearted moment too.

 

7. What’s a romantic comedy you really like?

bridesmaids.jpeg

The thing I like about it is that it’s just as much about women’s relationships with each other as it is about the central male-female relationship. In fact, the romantic relationship doesn’t get anywhere near as much screen-time as the best friend relationship. Actually, does this even count as a romantic comedy?!

Well, I’m counting it because I want to use some Bridesmaids gifs:

stove

you doo

popular

look away.gif

 

8. What’s a great horror movie?

AAAAARGH HORROR MOVIES NOOOOOOOOOOOO.

The only one I can think of that I really like is The Others, which is about a haunted house. However, this is probably classed more as thriller than horror. But I really don’t like horror movies so…

I guess The Woman in Black counts, but I wouldn’t say it’s a great movie as I just can’t help comparing it to the play and the book.

 

9. What’s a movie based on a book you really like?

room.jpg

There are loads of films based on books I really like, but I chose Room because it’s one of the most recent films I saw – and I also bought a copy of the book today so it’s fresh in my mind!

 

10. Name a book you wish they’d make into a movie.

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly.

220px-Thebookoflostthings.png

However, I only want them to do this if they do it WELL. I can imagine them really messing it up. It needs to be Pan’s Labyrinth-esque. (Even though I didn’t really like Pan’s Labyrinth…)

According to Wikipedia, someone bought the rights to the film adaptation in 2007, but I’m assuming the plans fell through since that was 9 years ago…

 

11. What’s a horror movie you found more stupid than scary?

THEY ALL SCARE ME.

I did think Teeth was pretty stupid. It’s probably scarier if you’re a guy, but in general the whole thing was just awful, especially the script. Plus I really hated the treatment of women in this film.

 

I TAG:

The Orang-Utan Librarian

icebreaker694

Bookshelves & Biros

 

14 thoughts on “The Spotlight Movie Tag.

  1. The Nightmare Before Christmas and Frozen are among the few animated I love. The list is short as I am not a big fan of the genre. I can watch The Incredibles over and over again. Recently I loved Inside Out. But classics made me cry when I was younger and I resent them for that so I avoid them like hell now. I was not prepared for the awfulness of the world, Disney!
    I have never watched The Rocky Horror Picture Show. I should, though!

    Like

    1. Rocky Horror is amazing! You just have to sit back and let it wash over you, though. Don’t question it otherwise you won’t be able to cope with the weirdness.

      Aww I’m obsessed with Disney movies haha. I’ve actually never liked The Incredibles though! That and Ice Age are two animated movies that I just can’t get into. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah I love Snatch!!! You’re totally right about that film! Although I can’t actually watch Rocky Horror Show- I just can’t make it through that movie- the only other movie where that happens is Edward Scissorhands for some reason- I just can’t do it. I love your picks for animated movies! And Bridesmaids is fun! I also can’t watch *any* scary movies (see above- I get freaked out by Edward Scissorhands for some reason- although I have no problem with violence like in Snatch- weird) I’m gonna have so much fun with this- thanks so much for tagging me!

    Like

    1. Omg I get so freaked out too. I get really freaked out thinking about death in general, so a lot of violent films terrify me even when they’re not horrors because they just remind me of all the different ways a person could kill you…OK, let’s stop talking about this now 😄

      Snatch is friggin’ amazing! Lock Stock is brilliant too but Snatch is definitely my favourite out of the Guy Ritchie gangster movies. It’s just hilarious!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ahh yes- like Saw- thought of it freaks me out- and I’m not gonna go into other examples cos they make me sick- and now I’ve thought about them I’ll get nightmare’s for sure…. good idea!
        It is!!! I haven’t seen that one (for some reason- I don’t know why- I’ve wanted to watch it for years)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha sorry! Hopefully we stopped in time to stave off the nightmares. You should definitely watch it! Snatch is basically all the dialogue they couldn’t fit into Lock Stock so you can’t really like one and not the other!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

