A is for… ‘All the Bright Places’ by Jennifer Niven.

Hello lovely readers, and welcome to the first in a series of alphabetical posts concerned with books I’ve read and what I thought of them.

I’ve got a couple of weeks off and not much planned, so am hoping to get lots of reading done as well as lots of blog posts. I wonder how long it’ll take me to get to Z (or to abandon this whole idea)?!

all the bright places.jpg

So today I’m discussing All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.

The John Green crowd love this book. It contains all the issues that were in vogue a few years ago – suicide, mental illness, grief – all told through the eyes of two angsty teenagers in insta-love.

feelings.gif

The book’s premise is promising: Finch is readying to kill himself, though with a somewhat flippant, irritating air, and his chosen method is to throw himself off of the ledge of the school bell tower. (I love how American schools have bell towers.) While up there, he suddenly realises he has company: Violet, one of the popular girls, driven to suicide after losing her sister in a car crash. He talks her out of it, and from then on, pursues her. She makes a show of pretending not to be interested but it’s pretty obvious she’s intrigued, though not for any reason that was clear to me.

I won’t go any further as I don’t want to spoil it for anyone, but if you’ve read these kinds of books before, you’ll probably guess the ending after the first couple of chapters. Instead, I’ll mention my personal pros and cons:

 

PROS

  1. Violet was likeable, though (at times) self-centred and not memorable, and certainly not “remarkey-able”.
  2. The writing was generally good, though the dialogue was unrealistic. It was at least good enough to make me download the whole book after reading the sample.
  3. The cover’s pretty.

I did try to do more pros, honestly I did. I mean, I didn’t hate this book. The writing was good-ish.

CONS

  1. Finch was honestly one of the most annoying love interests I’ve ever encountered, and I’ve encountered a lot of annoying love interests. (Looking at you, Peeta Mellark.)
  2. It was so, so predictable, and gave me real deja-vu of The Fault in Our Stars. And I wasn’t even that impressed with TFioS the first time.
  3. It also gave me deja-vu of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, just for the image of the two sisters writing together. At first I was like, I’d rather read a book about Violet and her sister (whose name I can’t for the life of me remember) and then I was like, ‘Oh, I could just re-read Fangirl.’
  4. I don’t suffer from depression so had never really thought about the way it’s represented in this book, but I stumbled upon this review while trying to google Violet’s sister’s name (no luck, obviously) and found I agreed with every word: it demonises anti-depressive drugs, and is more worried about the people left behind than the people committing suicide.

 

So all in all, I was not impressed. However, if you did like this, I can think of some similar books you might like as well:

fault in our stars i was here we were liars

All worth a read, though I wasn’t blown away by any of them.

Thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “A is for… ‘All the Bright Places’ by Jennifer Niven.

  1. Two suicidal kids meeting on a ledge was a great opening premise. Violet was alright, but unpredictable Finch was a lot more interesting. The first half of the book I was emotionally invested in him, but then his behavior started feeling gimmicky. What was your take on how they went around to all the Indiana tourist spots?

    Like

    1. It was an interesting and pretty unique idea, but for me it was just a way to thread their (boring) meetings together and again was quite unrealistic. I mean, Violet had no interest in any of her school projects and I couldn’t see why someone like Finch would be able to convince her to randomly go on all these drives with him (since they were badly matched). I did love the idea of the book buses though!

      Like

      1. They really weren’t well-matched, were they? Hmm, I think I was able to suspend disbelief on that one because of the highly unusual way they met and bonded.

        Like

  2. I haven’t read any of those books! 🙂 I keep seeing them on posts but I put them in the same category as Me Before You. As I did not like it, I am in no hurry to start those. Maybe if I have time during Summer, if there aren’t more urgent reads.

    Like

    1. I haven’t read Me Before You but as far as I’m aware that’s adult romance so I assume would be quite different to these. We Were Liars isn’t really much of a romance at all so you might enjoy that xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

