The Book Sacrifice Tag.

Well, it’s the first day of my fortnight off from work… so OBVIOUSLY I’ve woken up really ill. What shall I do to cheer myself up? Think about all the books I hate that I wouldn’t mind losing in these somewhat over-the-top scenarios.

Thanks so much to Sammie for tagging me for this!

1. An Over-Hyped Book.

Situation: You’re in a store when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies’ only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked do you start chucking at the zombies?

To be fair, if zombies were attacking me, I think I’d even throw my Harry Potter books. I can buy new editions.

However, that’s not really playing the game! So I’ll go for The Fault in Our Stars, which I didn’t dislike but which I think is one of the most pointlessly over-hyped books ever. It’s fine, yeah. But it’s not amazing, or anywhere near it.

fault in our stars

I do really love the cover though… would it be really stupid to buy a book I don’t care about just because it’ll look nice on my shelves?

Yes, Emma, it would.

…I still might do it.

 

2. A Sequel.

Situation: Torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

 

I was going to say Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee, but changed my mind for reasons that will become obvious later!

 

I actually avoid sequels, unless I’m really desperate for more of a particular bookish universe, because I assume it won’t be very good and will ruin my enjoyment of the first book. So it took me AGES to think of one. In the end, I remembered 2nd Chance by James Patterson. I really liked 1st to Die, which is the first in the Women’s Murder Club series, but didn’t enjoy this at all and didn’t even finish the third book in the series (can’t for the life of me remember its title, either).

 

3. A Classic.

Situation: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

I actually like a lot of classics, and unlike most people, I really enjoyed most of the books I studied at school, particularly the Shakespeare plays. However, there have been some really awful ones too.

Generally if I’m not enjoying it, I don’t finish a classic, because you generally have to invest a lot of effort in them as the language is usually pretty challenging or very lengthy. So I have a few I didn’t like, but since I didn’t finish them, I don’t think I can choose them for my answer. The only ones I’ve actually finished and didn’t enjoy (that I can think of) are Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen and Great Expectations by Charles Dickens.

I love the film version of Sense and Sensibility and also really enjoyed the book of Pride and Prejudice, so am not sure why I could never get into this book. However, I wouldn’t say I disliked it so I’ll go with Great Expectations, which was sooooo long and dull. (I don’t think I’m cut out to be a Dickens fan.) I’m not really sure why I forced myself through this as I didn’t have to read it for school!

 

 

4. A Least-Favourite Book.

Situation: apparently global warming equals suddenly frozen wasteland. Your only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting?

NOOOOOO you cannot burn a book!

Ah man, these tags make me grapple with my morals so much. The only book I can think of that I probably wouldn’t save from a fire would be Go Set a Watchman, as it brings absolutely nothing good to the world. Like, Mein Kampf is no one’s favourite book, but it is a historical text so shouldn’t be destroyed. But Go Set a Watchman is so, so bad.

go set a watchman.jpg

My disappointment with this book was so monumental that I actually felt betrayed. How could the woman who wrote To Kill a Mockingbird, the most beautifully written book of all time (IMO), possibly have got it into her head to ruin it with this bland, self-indulgent, plot-less sequel? It adds nothing to the original and doesn’t even have any good points to make about its main theme, racism.

 

So those are my (probably) unpopular opinions on books that I would defile! I am now passing on the Book Sacrifice baton to:

A Book Nation

Chocolate N Waffles

icebreaker694

 

Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “The Book Sacrifice Tag.

Leave a Reply

