War Stories.

image

I just finished watching Goodnight Mr Tom, which is one of the few films that I think is better than its book counterpart. Obviously I’m in tears, because there’s not a single second of that film that doesn’t get you right in the feels.

I’ve always loved history, but like learning about kings and queens best. At school I was never interested in wars. However, for the past year or so, I’ve been (completely by accident) reading a lot of novels set during the world wars, and I’ve realised that these eras are a lot more interesting than I ever gave them credit for.

I wanted to mention some of my favourite books set during this time.

The Amateur Marriage by Anne Tyler.

The war took more of a background role in this story, as it followed the main characters throughout their lives, past the war and how they dealt with the changing world thereafter. I’ve been enjoying several books like this lately, where you meet the characters in their 20s and journey with them all the way up until retirement or even death.

The Photographer’s Wife by Nick Alexander.

This skips back and forth between Barbara’s young life during the first world war, and her daughter’s life in the modern day. According to Amazon, Nick Alexander is considered a bit of an indie author, whereas I read this book and assumed he must be really well-known as it was just so good. It’s about family secrets kept by one generation from the other.

 

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne.

This is the Holy Grail for book-lovers: a book that stays with you after you’ve finished reading. I won’t say anymore because it will ruin it for you, but suffice to say you are missing something from your life if you don’t read this book. The film is amazing too.

Leave a Reply

