Cover Reveal: ‘Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets’ (Illustrated Edition)

Well, I wasn’t going to post on here tonight, but I just got a very special surprise email!

Bloomsbury have revealed the cover for Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – the illustrated edition!

cos.png

Click here to pre-order

I am a huge, HUGE fan of the illustrated Philosopher’s Stone. When I read it, it felt like I was reading the Harry Potter books for the first time, because everything just felt so new. Yeah, we’ve had films, and illustrations on Pottermore (the less said about that, the better) but nothing quite like this. I think the reason it works so well is because it really feels like they did this for the fans, not the money.

Because of this obvious passion behind Kay’s work, I’m sure that Chamber of Secrets will not disappoint. It’s not my favourite book, but there are some really interesting scenes that will be awesome to see a new take on. Personally, I’m excited for the Duelling Club, the Acromantula and the Chamber itself. And Dobby! I’m hoping for a brand new design. (Not that I didn’t like him in the films, but he’s not as cute as I imagined.)

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 19.15.04.png
This is more like it.

They’re saying they’ll release  one illustrated edition a year, on the dates the original books were published. I really don’t think that will be the case, especially with the later, bigger books (I really hope we don’t end up with abridged versions), but I’m pleasantly surprised to see that CoS appears on schedule.

As for the cover itself, I have to admit I’m a bit underwhelmed. It’s pretty similar to the original CoS cover, but then it’s an iconic image for this book, and Philosopher’s Stone was quite retro too, with the classic image of the Hogwarts Express. So maybe they’re trying to hit people right in the nostalgia.

What do you think? Personally, I think it’s a little kiddy, but the first illustrated book didn’t feel kiddy at all so I think there’s probably some much better pictures inside. AAAAAH I’M SO EXCITED!

i love magic.gif

Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Cover Reveal: ‘Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets’ (Illustrated Edition)

Leave a Reply

